The Duke Faculty Union is a union of non-tenure-track faculty working to empower faculty and support students. 

Join as an official member of your union here. Joining as an official dues-paying member is an important sign of support for the union's accomplishments to date and signals a commitment to your colleagues as we continue to work for the betterment of all.

Many of us have also chosen to make a small monthy contribution to the Workers United Political Power Campaign Committee, which lobbies for worker-friendly policies in the political realm.

We’re officially Local 26 of Southern Region Workers United SEIU, a union with members in Tennessee, Kentucky, Alabama, Mississippi, Georgia, Florida, Virginia, North Carolina and South Carolina, and headquartered in Union City, Georgia. 

Southern Region Workers United SEIU is an affiliate of Service Employees International Union  (SEIU), which is an organization of over 2 million members united by the belief in the dignity and worth of workers and the services they provide and dedicated to improving the lives of workers and their families and creating a more just and humane society.

Since 2013, More than 16,000 university faculty have joined SEIU through the Faculty Forward campaign. Faculty at higher education institutions including Duke, the University of Chicago, Washington University, the University of Southern California, and Tufts University have unionized. 

The following officers and cluster representatives were elected in September, 2017, and will serve a 3-year term.

Questions? Please contact us at or by reaching out to any of the individuals listed below.

Executive Committee

President - Mike Dimpfl, Thompson Writing Program

Vice President - MJ Sharp, Center for Documentary Studies

Secretary - Jim Haverkamp, Arts of the Moving Image

Treasurer - Chris Shreve, Biology

Sergeant-at-Arms - Leslie Maxwell, Thompson Writing Program

At-large Representatives

Rene Caputo, Thompson Writing Program and The Graduate School

Nora Hanagan, Political Science

Nancy Kalow, Center for Documentary Studies

Steve Kaufmann, Health, Wellness and Physical Education (HWPE)

David Need, Religious Studies

Cathy Shuman, English

Cluster Representatives

Art, Art History, and Visual Studies; Art of the Moving Image; Theater Studies:

Jim Haverkamp, Arts of the Moving Image

Patrick Herron, Information Science and Studies (Art, Art History, and Visual Studies)

Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science:

Chris Shreve, Biology
Vickie Eason, Biology

Asian and Middle Eastern Studies; Classical Studies; Cultural Anthropology; Economics; Program in Education; English; History; International Comparative Studies; Linguistics; Markets and Management; Political Science; Religious Studies; Service Learning; Sociology:

David Need, Religious Studies

Dance; Health, Wellness and Physical Education (HWPE):

Steve Kauffman, HWPE

John Orr, HWPE

Germanic Languages and Literature; Romance Studies:

Rebecca Ewing, Romance Studies

Music and String School:

Sandra Cotton, Music

Randy Reed, Music

Thompson Writing Program:

Kevin Casey

Lindsey Smith